Mondays

img_0036

img_0006

img_3813

I love Monday. I know that sounds opposite to what most people in this world hear. I really do though. Monday’s are a quiet, slow, back to normal kind of day for me. The weekends are usually busy. A good busy but they are action packed. I don’t think I sat down to ‘relax’ even once yesterday until after supper. Between work, chores around the house, meetings, and planning the next week there is not much relaxing to do. I was a little jealous the other day when a lady in my knitting class said that on Sunday after church all she does is sit on the couch watching football with her husband. All her kids are grown and she doesn’t work weekends. I thought about it for a bit and decided I would rather have my week go a little slower than just a weekend. So here we are Monday. And I am glad.

Not sure if I mentioned this, but I have been getting up early and teaching myself and my husband yoga. He is not very flexible and tends to get an achy back after working outside or playing basketball. I have wanted to start getting up early to exercise and having him join me is a great motivator. He is very good at keeping a routine and he has to get up early because he leaves for work at 7.  The early morning yoga is a nice start to the day.

Another great thing about getting up early is that on the weekends I tend to still get up early. My husband would prefer me to stay in bed with him and I do for a while. This is kind of funny but I will stay in bed until I get a hot flash. Yup, having many of those through out the night ;). Right now, it being winter and the house is usually very cold, it is a relief to get out of the covers as I start to heat up and sweat. On Sunday morning I got up and went down in my sewing room. The sun was shining through the windows and so I just got the urge to sew! I sewed a whole row of blocks and then sewed that row to the quilt. I felt quite accomplished.

A few weeks ago I finished the second pair of socks for my daughter. Now they both have a pair. One wanted anklets. I need to improve on my elasticity. The cuffs are a bit loose. It may be the amount of purls and knits on the cuff or maybe I need to cast on less and increase later on the leg part. The girls like them though and they wear them. They say they are warm. That is all I need to hear.

I’ve been thinking a bit about my garden. A bit. It is buried under quite a bit of snow and now ice. I have been thinking about what to plant and where. Things I will change and things I may add. I can’t wait to see how my new asparagus bed fared through the winter. I should get a few fronds to eat this year! I haven’t gone as far as drawing the garden out and ordering seeds but I will soon.

Two of my sons are renting an apartment together a couple of hours away from here. The house has been quiet. The girls do make noise, and play, and are active but when the boys are not here it is noticeably quiet. The supper table seems big. I know they will come back to visit. Having just four people here has its benefits but it is going to take some getting used to.

Here is our menu for the week. Enjoy your Monday!

Monday:  Hamburger Medley Soup

Tuesday:  Steak, potatoes, and brussel sprouts

Wednesday: Spaghetti and clam sauce

Thursday: Chicken Fajitas

Friday:  out                

Saturday: out

Sunday: Stir fry and pot stickers

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mondays

  1. Odd, I’d left a comment on this post, but I’m not seeing it at all. Ok, I’ll try to remember what I wrote.
    The socks look great. What type of yarn are you using? Decreasing stitches, at the cuff would work, also dropping down a few needle sizes. That’s what I did with my recent sock project. I knit those four at a time. It was sock weight yarn. I used my size 2 Hiya Hiya Sharps interchangeable knitting needles. When I got to the cuff, I dropped down to a Hiya HIya, size 0 fixed circular.

    Yoga is wonderful. My daughter enjoys it also. I do (occasionally) incorporate it into my fitness routine.

    Like

    1. I cannot remember what kind of yarn it was but when I went back to the store to get more, because I loved it so much, she had discontinued it! I want to try another sock pattern sometime. I will try a smaller needle on the cuff, that is a great idea.

      Like

Leave a Reply

