A Challenging Trade

img_2883

I have promised to fix these jeans. I promised before I saw them. It is part of a trade agreement that I made. Initially I planned to pay for the onions and winter squash I received from a man down the road. Then I made him a pie for Thanksgiving. Then I knitted him a hat. When I reminded him that I need to pay for the vegetables and would like to know how much I owed he said, ‘hat, pie, plus mended jeans and we are good’. I had not heard about these jeans before. I have mended and patched lots of jeans in my day so I agreed. Then he handed me a big basket full of ripped jeans and a box of other jeans that I could use in repair job. Nice. Great. Thanks.

Well, I just don’t know where to start. These jeans are lined. Normally I undo the leg seams and patch the pants in two places, front and inside. Then I sew up the leg and I am done. With the lining I really don’t want to take out the seam.

img_2884

He also wrote out directions on how he wants it done. He said if possible keep the grain and color the same on the patches as the pants. Hmmmmm.

So I will give this a try. This week. I am really not looking forward to it.

If you have any ideas on how I should approach this I would appreciate hearing from you. Thanks!

 

4 thoughts on “A Challenging Trade

  1. Maybe you have figured something out already?
    I think the appoach you usually do will work here too, only with a few extra steps – since you have to do the lining too.
    The best of luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

