Thanksgiving Week

img_7550

Wishing everyone a Happy Thanksgiving. I am not posting a menu this week. We are pretty much grabbing what is available while I prepare for Thanksgiving. My two sons will arrive on Wednesday some time. One may not get her until the day of. One son is home already and of course the two girls, my husband and I.

img_5511

I will serve a turkey and all the fixings. Pretty traditional. Mashed potatoes, squash, chuck wagon carrots, apple cider, stuffing, rolls, and gravy. I plan to make two pies, apple and pumpkin. I have a strawberry-rhubarb in the freezer made in the summer. I may take it out, maybe I will save it for Christmas.

It isn’t all about the food though. There will be catching up with each other. There will be music, games, fun. I am sure there will be an occasional spat. Can’t avoid that when you put family together. There will be naps, and walks in the woods.

I know this is the season for being thankful and finding gratitude. I will enjoy my family and will as always be thankful I have one. I always stop and think at this time of year why we all don’t make a bigger deal about being thankful at other times of the year. We should always be thankful. We should always show gratitude. We should always think of others who are not as fortunate as ourselves.

I know I am fortunate. I am never hungry. I am never cold. I am never thirsty. At least not in the way that many people in this world are. I do not live in fear of anyone or anything. I am free to say or do pretty much anything I want. If you are reading this you are one of the fortunate ones too. People who are cold and hungry are not thinking about blogs or the internet.

Maybe Thanksgiving is the kick off for the rest of the year of thinking of how fortunate you really are and being thankful for that. I will try and carry it with me the whole year long.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

