A Special Birthday

We celebrated my daughter’s 13th birthday yesterday. On Friday there will be bowling and pizza with some friends. One special friend cannot come because she lives too far away! You are missed Chloe! It is an extended birthday, as many of them are around here.

I remember the day I had an ultrasound and was told I was having a little girl. I was so happy. I love my boys. No question about that. I had not always dreamed of having a little girl and tried and tried until I finally had one. No, it wasn’t like that at all. Each and every one of my three boys was welcomed with love and thankfulness for their health and being. But, I do remember laying on the examination table and was so very happy that I would be having a little girl.

imag00697

I was 36 years old when I had her. Not really old but as far as the doctors and midwives I was in that age category that made things a little risky. I had a friend/midwife take care of me for my prenatal visits but had a doctor at a hospital deliver her. It was in a time where I couldn’t have her VBAC without a doctor. Weird the way the hospital rules are. One more year later and I would have had to have a C-section. Since then they changed that rule as well, thankfully. Anyway, I suffered from a lazy cervix and had to be induced. I had heard horror stories about that but really it wasn’t as bad as I imagined. I had already had one C-section due to a breech baby, and two VBAC births. This induced one wasn’t worse than those. I am so thankful that I had a trained medical staff to be there to help.

Thirteen years later she is still my baby girl. She is a thoughtful person, smart, and talented in many things.  She is beautiful inside and out. She loves deeply. I love her dearly.

Happy Birthday my daughter.

 

4 thoughts on “A Special Birthday

Leave a Reply

