We’ve Got the Uglies

I wonder how many people regret doing a home renovation project once it is started? I am regretting it right now. Not because it is turning out badly, because it isn’t. We are pulling up wall to wall carpet and putting in a wood laminate floor. It looks great. The side that is done anyway. We have furniture piled up on one side of the house. There is dust and grime everywhere from under the rugs and also from installing the floor. I am getting a little worried because Thanksgiving is next week! Yikes!

img_1539

The carpet that has been on the floors is over 20 years old. Maybe even 30. It has a pad and particle board under it. There are so many ugly stains on the floor from other spills and from me trying to spray the carpet clean. We also noticed that there may have been a leak from the upstairs bathroom at one time since all the water marks are all in one area.

img_1540

It is a slow process. My husband is doing all the work himself. My son helps when he is needed. It really isn’t anything that could be done by many people. I had a lofty goal of getting it done by Wednesday of this week but I am realizing that it cannot be. Maybe by the end of the weekend. Then I can clean and get ready for Thanksgiving.

It is going to look so good when it is done. I can already tell how beautiful it will be from the area that is done.

img_1541

It is exciting. Stressful for me. I am not one of those people that is good at waiting. But, it will be worth it.

Here is the weekly menu!

Monday:  Lentil Soup (Last Sunday we had Subway instead because of the flooring job)

Tuesday: Shrimp Jambalaya

Wednesday: Slow Cooker Meatballs over spaghetti

Thursday: Black Bean Quesadillas

Friday:  Haddock chowder and crusty bread

Saturday: Pork Tenderloin, onions, sweet potatoes, and green beans

Sunday: Stir Fry and rice

Leave a Reply

