Four Years

imag00687

I voted on Tuesday, as many of you did. I was not happy with the results, as about half the nation also wasn’t. It was a hard decision. No person running, in my opinion, was a great choice.  I am trying to keep it all in perspective. In my own heart, and mind I feel not much will change for me personally. I don’t anticipate my life changing much in the next four years. I am fortunate. I am white. I am middle aged. I am a straight married woman. I am no longer of childbearing age. I won’t have to go to war. I am not disabled.  I do know that that isn’t so for many of the people in America. There are many people in our nation that could suffer greatly with this new president elect we have.

We cannot think of only ourselves though. I always wonder what can I really do to make changes or to help. I honestly don’t believe the little people like me really have an impact. I think it maybe makes us feel better to do something but is it really working? Is it really making an impact? Real change has to come from deep into the system. Corporations are really running and ruling our country. Money and the need and desire for more and more of it is at the root of the problem. I feel sometimes like just ignoring it all. It makes no sense to me and it makes me mad. For example, during the night on Tuesday as state and house results were coming in the reporters would say how much each candidate had spent on their campaign. Tens and hundreds of thousands of dollars. The presidential hopefuls spent much, much more than that! The only thing I kept thinking about was how that money, even a small part of that money, could have helped so many people that don’t have homes, beds, medical care, medicines, food, clothing, and basic supplies to keep themselves clean. Do those candidates even think about that? Do they realize that all that money that they are sinking into ads and signs and social media could be used for actually helping someone. I know, they will help people once they get into office. Yea, right. The system is not only broken but it is rotted out and about to fall over. Sometimes I feel the only real way to have change is to start over. Unfortunately the only way to do that is for something catastrophic to happen.

I may be naive. I want to believe that there are checks and balances in our system of government that will protect us all from disaster. I want to believe that things will be alright. I want to think that this new president will not be as bad as a lot of us think. Half the people of this nation believe in him. Half the nation can’t all be uneducated and uninformed. I want to believe that our new president will do his best. I am not sure I can believe all that but I want to.

I am scared for my children. I have a daughter that in four years will be of childbearing age. I have sons that could be called up to fight in a war. I am scared that my young children will learn to hate people because they come from a different country or are of a different color or ability. I am afraid that this earth will be worse off for my grandchildren.

Then I start thinking that really I need to settle down. It could only be four years. Lets see what happens. In four years maybe things don’t go that badly. If they do then probably people will rethink who they want in office. In just four short years we could possibly have a different president elect. Maybe a woman. A different woman that most of us can stand next to and be proud. Four years is not that long. Hopefully.

Yes, many of us are mad, sad, and some are outraged. Most will forget about it in a few days. Some will still be fuming for a few months. Some will really attempt at a real change. As for me, and this may sound trivial, I feel that for now all I can do is love my family, my neighbors, my friends and myself. I can teach my children and I can try and raise awareness to the ones I love. I can counteract hate by love. I can hope. I really like this quote:

“My life cannot implement in action the demands of all the people to whom my heart responds. I cannot marry all of them, or bear them all as children, or care for them all as I would my parents in illness or old age. Are not the here, the now, the individual and her relationships the casualties of modern life? The present is passed over in the race for the future, the here is neglected in favor of the there, and the individual is dwarfed by the enormity of the mass. America, which as the most glorious present still existing in the world today, hardly stops to enjoy it, in her insatiable appetite for the future.

It may be our special function to emphasize again these neglected realities, not as a retreat from greater responsibilities, but as a first real step toward a deeper understanding and solution of them. When we start at the center of ourselves, we discover something worthwhile extending toward the periphery of the circle. We find again some of the joy in the now, some of the peace in the here, some of the love in me and thee which go to make up the kingdom of heaven on earth.”
Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift from the Sea

We are all humans. We are all in this life together, for better or worse. We are all the same in the end. Let’s make the most of it.

 

Leave a Reply

