Monday’s Menu and Quick Roasted Veggie Recipe

Did you ever have those weeks when you finally sit down and look back on it you get tired just from the memory? I have had a few weeks that have been like that. I am finally getting caught up. It wasn’t even anything big or thankfully serious. A combination of being away from home for a whole weekend and having visitors (including my three sons at different times) threw me out of kilter for a while. I have been mentally drained from the growing pains of young adult men. I have been physically tired from all the running around. It really doesn’t take much to get me all unorganized and overwhelmed. I am hoping I am back at it now though. I do have a menu and even a recipe to share.

Super Easy Roasted Vegetable Sauce for Pasta or Rice:

img_1422

This recipe is so easy I wish I could make it every week. I probably could except that most of my family would probably get sick of it. The ingredients are only what you want. I used onions, garlic, peppers, fresh tomatoes (not canned), zucchini, summer squash and basil leaves. I cut everything up in big chunks. I left the garlic cloves whole. Place all of the veggies on an oiled baking sheet. Set the oven on broil/low and placed the pan on the lower rack of the oven. Keep checking to make sure nothing is getting too cooked. When things look soft and there is some liquid on the bottom of the pan it is done. You could transfer it all into a pot and keep warm while your pasta or rice is cooking. You could just eat the veggies too. Add salt and pepper to your individual plate. So easy and so tasty!

img_1420

Here is our menu for the week:

Monday:  Chicken Pot Pie

Tuesday: Indian Cauliflower Soup (Smitten Kitchen)

Wednesday: Pork loin, mashed potatoes, squash, and broccoli

Thursday: Speghetti and clam sauce

Friday:  Beef Stew

Saturday: Chicken fahitas

Sunday: Hamburger patties, cubed sweet potatoes, and green beans

Enjoy your week!

 

Leave a Reply

