Refrigerator Pickles

I do not have many cucumbers this year. It has been very dry. I have watered my garden often but it just doesn’t compare to a good soaking rain. The cucumbers I have had are small. I got a bag full of cukes from my son who is a farmer. Lucky me! I made refrigerator pickles the other day. They are the Claussen type. Salty, crisp and so tasty.

IMG_1245

You start by cleaning the cucumbers. Cut off about an inch off the ends. This helps keep them crisp. Then cut in quarters. Some of the shorter cukes I cut in slices. It doesn’t really matter what the shapes are.

I used a combination of ‘Claussen’ style pickle recipes that are out there on the web. I kept the cut up cukes in a bowl of cold water.

Fill quart sized jars (that have been sterilized) with a clove of garlic, onion slices, a dill flower, a sprinkle of crushed red pepper, some mustard seeds, and some allspice seeds.

Heat to boiling 1 1/2 quarts of water, 2 cups of white vinegar, and 1/3 cup of canning salt. (Not regular salt)

When boiling, pour the liquid into the jars to about a half inch from top. Screw on clean tops and rings. Now place on your counter for four days turning the jars over every day. After the fourth day put them in the refrigerator and they are ready to eat! They can be stored for 3 months. If they last that long.

IMG_1244

Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

