Yes and No

As with all things we do there are projects that we love and when we finish we say ‘Yes!’ and then there are those that we look at and try really hard to say yes but in the end deep down we know it is a big ‘No!’. Recently I finished two projects. We were travelling to Canada as a family and I didn’t have to drive at all. So there was lots and lots of knitting time!

The first finish is a Yes. These furry little things are made from 100% angora yarn. I love squishing them. They are for my son’s friend. This will be her first baby. I don’t have any grandchildren yet and I was so excited to be able to knit up these booties. I may knit a hat too.

IMG_1216

The project that I am rejecting is a shawl that I have been working on for a couple of months. I don’t like the size, it is just too small. I even used a bigger needle than they called for. I also don’t like how the lace looks. Maybe it is the texture of the yarn but the lace hardly shows up. Maybe blocking would change that but I don’t think blocking will change the size that much. It barely curls around my shoulders. I want a shawl that will warm me on those cold winter nights.

IMG_1217

IMG_1218

I don’t know yet what I will use the yarn for. Maybe a nice hat for all this curly hair. I don’t normally wear hats because of my hair but I do want to wear a hat in the winter. I guess I will have to look for a hat pattern that is just for wild out of control hair.

Happy Knitting!

 

2 thoughts on “Yes and No

  1. Those booties are adorable! It makes me tempted to make a pair, although I don’t know anyone that as a baby. That has not stopped me making anything before. I could always tuck them away and “gift” them when a baby makes an appearance.

    I love your shawl also, but I completely understand not liking something that you’ve created. That occasionally happens to me. Sometimes, I’ll set it aside for someone else and other times… I frog the project. I’m a process crafter, so that does not bother me at all.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I will be making another pair of booties for another friend. These are friends of my sons, which themselves are old enough to have children but are not yet. I am glad I can still make knitted things for others though. I will frog the shawl. I am sad about all the time I put into it but that is what happens when you create!

      Like

Leave a Reply

