Monday’s Menu

IMG_1194

Hello! Good morning! It is Monday and time for me to create a menu for the week. I am a lover of autumn and I am starting to crave all those meals that stew, bake, and broil. Like a nice beef stew or a slow baked chicken. I was at a loss for meal ideas this weekend and my husband came to the rescue. I told him what I really wanted was baked chicken. Unfortunately with all the heat we are getting here in Maine that was not going to happen. At least not inside where it would add degrees to the already hot house. (No air conditioning here!)

My husband said ‘why not cook it on the grill?’. I knew that was possible, and had even tried to do it, unsuccessfully. I ended up butterflying the chicken backwards and it didn’t work. We ended up grilling pieces (some so small they fell through).  I told him all of this and he said he would research it. Well he researched it and he butterflied the chicken perfectly and grilled it perfectly. He found his information on Serious Eats. Just type in ‘cooking a whole chicken on the grill’ in their search tab.

We also grilled some fresh zucchini and summer squash in a cast iron pan. Makes for a perfect summer supper that didn’t need any inside cooking!

Here is this week’s menu:

Monday: Home made tomato sauce with fresh ingredients from my garden!

Tuesday: Rainbow Trout, red potatoes, and Roma green beans

Wednesday: Chicken enchiladas 

Thursday: Ham and cheese Italians

Friday: Chefs Salad 

Saturday: Pork tenderloin on the grill with brown rice and beets and tomatoes. 

Sunday: Shepards Pie (I’m going to try and cook it in a cast iron dutch oven on the grill. I’ll let you know how it comes out.)

Enjoy your week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

