Strawberry Fields Forever

Now you are probably humming that famous song from the Beatles, right? Sorry about that. The girls and I went Strawberry picking last week. We left early before the heat of the day. It was a perfect day for picking. Beautiful, blue, bright, sunny skies. There was a touch of a breeze to keep the bugs at bay. There were lots and lots of berries!

IMG_0998

We went to a farm in Whitefield, Maine that is organic. Strawberries are one of those fruits that is on the list of foods you should really try and eat without pesticides. Luckily there are a few good farms in Maine that are growing organic strawberries. Apples are also on that list but are a lot harder to find in organic ‘pick your own’ form.

Anyway, back to the strawberries.

IMG_1002

Isn’t that a beauty! And boy did they taste good. There were so many strawberries we didn’t really have to move along the row much. Just sit and pick.

IMG_1005

Of course you have to eat a few while you pick.

IMG_1003

It was a nice morning and I was very thankful to have the girls help me. This week they go to camp so I will go myself and I know it will take me a lot longer.

I froze most of this batch. I love having strawberries all year long. We use them in smoothies and pies but the girls will just eat a bowl of them straight out of the freezer. I cut off the tops, cut the berry in half unless it is really small and place it on a cookie sheet. When the sheet is full I put it in the freezer overnight. The next day I scoop the frozen berries into a freezer bag. Dip the bag in a big bowl or sink full of water to get all the air out and zip lock it closed. Then put the bag in the freezer. The reason I do it this way is that the berries freeze independently and they don’t freeze in a big lump. It is so much easier to open a bag and take a few out without having to separate them all from each other. Strawberries any time you need them!

IMG_1025

Picking your own fruit and freezing it is a real money saver. Frozen bags of fruit in a grocery store are about three times as much as what I can do for myself. Plus I am getting exercise, fresh air and making memories at the same time. So go find yourself some strawberries. And don’t forget to eat some too!

Happy Picking. 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Fields Forever

  1. As a child, I have fond memories of picking strawberries with my mom and brother. We had a garden but not a huge patch and so we would go to Lohr’s orchard or Huber farms for our strawberry picking. I remember busloads would occasionally come to the farm also. Most of the folks were from the city. I only know because my mom was quite talkative, still is, and would chat with those around her. During their conversations, they would say where they were from.

    We have a row of strawberries, but not enough to keep us well stocked throughout the cooler months. I have thought about planting more on the land below the garden. we definitely have the space for that. Hmm, perhaps I’ll do that next year. That’s a great idea about freezing the strawberries and it’s something I’ll use and share with my mother also.

    It’s been a busy summer for us. My daughter has homework. Homework is assigned at her Lutheran school and she’s always been diligent in completing them. This year, for eight grade, she’ll have Geometry. She just finished Algebra. I’m looking at a few online curriculums that I think will be helpful for her. Ninth grade is when she’ll be homeschooled. My goodness is she excited about that.

    Like

    1. I have thought of putting some strawberries in here also, but I do like to freeze them all in one batch instead of over a course of a few weeks. I have enough veggies in the garden for that! I do enjoy going to a farm and picking too. I suppose a row or two would be nice just for fresh berries though. Glad you are enjoying your summer. Me too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

