What’s for Dinner & Beans and Rice Recipe

On the menu this week will be Beans and Rice. It is one of the most simplest and quickest meals I can make but is packed full of good foods. Many times quick and easy can mean fast food take out or something pre-packaged from the frozen food section. It doesn’t have to. There are lots of really simple, quick and healthy meals that we can do in our own kitchens.

I start out by quick cutting some peppers and onions. For me doing it fast means they come out a bit big. Saute in some olive oil or butter.

IMG_0926

Next thing I do is add diced tomatoes. Of course it is nice if you have your own tomatoes from your garden but I have since ran out of those. I use canned diced tomatoes and they are fine.

IMG_0927

It adds some nice color wouldn’t you say? Now I add the beans. I use some red and black. I already had some cooked and frozen, and they had thawed in the fridge overnight. Certainly you can use some canned beans of your choosing. I think any bean would work in this meal.

IMG_0928

The beans are not all that pretty, but they taste wonderful. Now I add spices. Again you can add what ever you and your family like, but I add cumin, chili powder, paprika, garlic powder and then salt and pepper. My husband puts a little hot sauce on his after it is served.

And there you have it. It takes less than 30 minutes from start to finish and you have a healthy, tasty, home made meal for dinner. Serve it over rice or noodles or you could just eat it the way it is.

IMG_0929

Here is this week’s menu.

Monday: BBQ Ribs with brown rice and broccoli

Tuesday: Whole chicken one the grill (never did it before but I am going to give it a try) with sweet potatoes and salad

Wednesday: Cubed Steak with onions, peppers, and mushrooms with cubed potatoes and green beans 

Thursday: Stir fry

Friday: Beans and rice and hot dogs (camping)

Saturday: Penne and spaghetti sauce (camping)

Sunday: Grab it or leftovers (we will be getting back from camp and I know I won’t want to cook)

Leave a Reply

