What’s for Dinner

IMG_0976

Strawberries plus Rhubarb equals PIE! I am so glad this season is here. I love making pies and even more I love using fruits that are in season. Two of these pies I delivered to the farm that gave me the lard to make these lovely crusted pies. I am so thankful that I have a local, organic source for my lard and it is free to boot!

Making lard is one of the easiest things to do. I don’t have any pictures because really it isn’t all that pretty or interesting. Actually the finished product is pretty. A nice clean, white, odorless lard. It is the pork fat that isn’t all that nice to look at.

To make lard I take a nice pork back fat and cut it up into chunks. Then I put it all in my crock pot. Turn the pot on low or warm and let it melt throughout the day, or night. When the fat is all liquefied you take off the little cooked fat pieces that will be on the top. These are called cracklings.  Then you pour the fat into jars and let harden. I freeze mine so they last a little longer. I need to find a better way to store the lard though. I found that it is really difficult to get the lard out of a jar. Maybe there are molds somewhere that I can use. My husband suggested using a bread pan lined with paper. When it is hardened just take it out and freeze. I will try it next time. Seems reasonable that it would work.

I use all lard when I make my pies. I don’t feel it is unhealthy because it is coming from a local, organic farm and I think we are getting many good things from that. Some people use part lard part butter or part shortening. I think how ever you make your pie crust is your choice. I imagine your family and friends love it and eat it right up.

So here is this weeks menu:

Monday: Tuna Noodle Casserole (quick meal for the first play off game)

Tuesday: Boneless Teriyaki Chicken on the grill with couscous and asian greens and snap peas

Wednesday: Steak on the grill with sweet potatoes and cole slaw

Thursday: Fish Tacos with Hake

Friday: Spaghetti and Sauce with a salad

Saturday: Stir-fry with rice noodles. 

I am using more and more from the garden these days. It feels so good to be able to walk out and snip a few things off and bring it to the table. More on the garden this week.

Happy Cooking!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner

  1. I never made lard, but I will make it some time soon. I’ve been wanting to try using lard when I make soap.

    Yes… I remember cracklings from reading the Laura Ingalls Wilder series and mom used to give my brother and me a few pieces.

    Rhubarb is in the garden now. I’ve never added that to a strawberry pie, but I will.

    A few weeks ago, I thought about you. My daughter will be homeschooledfrom ninth grade until she graduates. She’s really excited, In many ways… she’s already homeschooled. I feel education starts at home, but she does attend a Lutheran school. She has a few close friends, and knows she’ll stil be in contact with them. She’s already tls them she’s going to be homeschooled. A few wished they could be homeschooled too. My best friend homeschooled all three of her children. Well… she’s still homeschooling her son. He’s in ninth grade. Her two daughters are now married. My nephew is homeschooled, along with a few of my young cousins.

    Like

    1. Oh lard is easy. There are lots of tutorials online. Welcome to Homeschooling! That is great. Too bad we are not neighbors.

      Like

Leave a Reply

