What’s for Dinner / Focaccia Recipe

Now that the warm weather is here it is so nice to get outside to cook. Both my husband and I do the grilling. We each have our own way of course! This week I did most of the grilling.

IMAG00279

Shish kabobs is a favorite here. I learned a few years ago through trial and error that you don’t want to put a bunch of different foods on one skewer. Tomatoes and mushrooms cook much faster than meat. Filling the skewers with only one type of food works so much better. I cook the meat skewers first and when they are close to being done I add the foods that cook quick. Zucchini and Summer squash also cook fast and are great on the grill also.

IMG_0887

I chose to grill the potatoes in this sort of ‘cage’ thing I have. I don’t know what it is called but I love it for potatoes or shrimp or any big chunk food. I can flip it over and cook both sides. These potatoes are small red ones and I brushed a garlic butter marinade on them. The same one that I marinated the chicken in.

IMG_0893

This is the view we had while grilling. My daughter was sitting with me and she took this picture. I love how the sun is peeping through the trees on its way down to set.

Last week I made Foccocia bread. We love it dipped in olive oil. So yummy!

IMG_0870

My Foccacia bread is just a whole wheat pizza dough that I let rise on the pan for a while. Then I press finger holes in the dough and lightly brush olive oil onto it. Then I top it with Parmesan, Mozzarella and a few Portabella mushrooms. Then I sprinkle basil, oregano and salt and pepper over the top. Cook it for about 20 minutes in a 425 degree oven.

Here is this week’s menu.

Monday: Taco night!

Tuesday: Spaghetti and sauce (from a batch I froze a while back) and a salad

Wednesday: Pork chops, sweet potatoes, onions, and cauliflower broccoli mix

Thursday: Bratwurst on a bun with Vadalia onions and sauerkraut

Friday: Talipia on the grill with a salad (tis the season!) 

Saturday: BBQ chicken, macaroni salad with cucumbers and olives

Sunday: Calzones

Happy Cooking! (and Grilling)

 

2 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner / Focaccia Recipe

  1. I was planning on grilling today, but I changed my plans and we ate leftovers. Shish kabobs is something I have not made in a long time and now I think I’ll make them some time this week. Thanks for the prompt! ☺️

    Like

    1. I know about changed plans. Not sure why I even do a menu these days of softball and gardening. But it does give me something to go by. We have to be flexible I guess! Enjoy the Shish Kabobs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

