What’s for Dinner

The weather outside is delightful. We are shifting our time to the outdoors. The girls spend hours in the woods, making houses and forts. Tick season is here and with it nightly body checks. My husband and I worked a lot together on the garden clean up chores and changing things around in places. This is the first week of softball for the girls. That means Tuesday and Thursday have to be easy, quick meals.

With this change in season I am not so keen on making meals that take a lot of prep work. I want to be outside. I don’t want to be inside cooking. Realistically though, people still need to eat and we all love good food.

IMG_6557

Pizza is one of our favorite meals. Home made of course! There are lots of dough recipes online. We have used many. One day I was in town and I texted my son who was home, to ask if he could please make some dough. He said of course! He ended up putting twice as much salt in it as the recipe called for. We all braced ourselves for a salty dough, but it was the best dough ever! Now we add more salt than usual. We all love it.

Pizza is one of those things you can just top it with anything you like. Really, anything. My favorite is olive oil, mushrooms, garlic and mozzarella cheese. I usually have spinach on mine but not in the above picture.

This week I have grilled pizza on the menu. Yes, you can grill pizza and it is amazing!

Here is this week’s menu.

Monday: Chicken pieces on the grill with red potatoes and broccoli

Tuesday: Taco night

Wednesday: Ziti and sauce with sausage and garlic bread (Homemade)

Thursday: Chili in the crockpot

Friday: Grilled pizza

Saturday: Pork roast with mashed potatoes and salad

Sunday: Stir fry and Thai noodles.

Hope you have a great week!

4 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner

  1. The pizza looks delicious and I have the same pan. Have you tried a pizza stone? I haven’t yet, but it’s on my list of things to try. Yes… we make our own pizza too. Have you tried making it with a sourdough crust? That’s incredible also. We mainly cook at home, we rarely eat out. I love cooking and at times I wonder about cleanliness even in the finer restaurants.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I have a stone, but have not tried it on the grill. My stone is only as big as one of my racks in my oven and I often make several pizzas. So that one didn’t make it on to the stone. Have you tried yours on a grill?

      Like

      1. Indeed I haven’t, but since I love to grill, I’ll be sure to give that a try. My nephew might be here tomorrow. If he is, and the weather is nice, I’ll be sure to grill. We love our homemade pizzas. How awesome is it that your don had no problem making the dough. I’ve taught me daughter general skills (sewing, washing, cooking, gardening, etc.,) also.

        Like

Leave a Reply

