Finished Mitts & A Great Book

Getting away for a little while was so good. I am fortunate that my husband works on the road. This past weekend he had a show to go to in Rhode Island. He asked if we wanted to come and stay overnight with him and find something to do in Providence and then also visit his family in Connecticut. Of course I said Yes!

I got a lot of knitting done on the ride and in the hotel. Being trapped in a car is so good for the hand work projects. I was able to finish the fingerless mitts that I was working on.

IMG_0624

My sister in law offered me a bag of books that she had finished reading. The first one I tried is so good! I was hooked the second page in. That hardly ever happens.  I am only on the second chapter and it is one of those books that I don’t want to put down. Unfortunately I do have other things that have to be done so I can’t read it as fast as I want to. Maybe that is a good thing. Many times when I read a great book I am disappointed that it is over. So if I read this one slowly maybe I can savor it. The book is called the Orchardist by Amanda Coplin. It takes place at the turn of the century (20th). So far it has talked a little about this man Talmadge who is the main character and in just one chapter he has had some tough times!

IMG_0631

Rhode Island was much warmer than Maine. There were trees in bloom and daffodils in full color! It took us five hours to drive down there, so I wonder what that equates to the warm weather getting here and the flowers starting to bloom up this way?

WP_20160318_020

Happy Knitting and Happy Spring!

Joining Ginny’s Yarn Along today! Can’t wait to see everyone’s projects.

 

 

Leave a Reply

