On the Menu Board

IMG_4414

 

Here is our menu for the week:

Monday: Tacos – (Yes this was on last week’s menu. The girls went on an overnight and my husband and I went out!)

Tuesday: Salmon, rice, broccoli & cauliflower

Wednesday: Sausage, cabbage, potatoes, onions and peppers

Thursday: Squash soup and bread

Friday: Lasagna and Birthday cake!

Saturday: Beans and dogs and a veggie

Sunday: Baked whole chicken with mashed potatoes and carrots.

 

IMG_0427

Last Week the chili and corn bread were a big hit. I got the corn bread recipe off of the Food Network site. It is the Pioneer Woman’s recipe. It was the best cornbread I ever made. The chili recipe is my own. I literally just throw a bunch of ingredients in a crock pot and let it cook. So easy! So tasty!

I do use dry beans, but cook them ahead of time. You can use canned beans. I use black and red, but any favorite bean would be fine. I try and watch my salt intake and I feel the canned beans have a lot of extra salt.

Chili in the Crock pot

2 qt mixed beans (black, red, pinto, black eyed…)

2 onions

2 peppers

1 lb hamburg (I have also used chicken) fried in skillet with a bit of oil

1 qt stewed tomatoes

2 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp tumeric

1 tsp pepper

Add everything in a crock pot. Put on high for one hour then turn to low for 5 to 6 hours. Serve with cornbread, sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese.

Do you put up a menu at your house? Do you struggle to find meal ideas every week? I know I do. I thought I would share my ideas and if you feel like it you could share yours. Comment below and leave a link to your menu for the week.

Enjoy your week!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “On the Menu Board

  1. I love to cook, but I never go low recipes. I do like reading and observing food shows since I am occasionally inspired; however, it sends I always gave to add my own “twist” to much lve recipes. Enough of the ramblings… Since I love to cook, I’m I’m naturally drawn to your food posts. I don’t “think” I’ve ever written about food or even shown pictures of food on my crafting website; however, I have shared on my eclectic site.

    I’m a “dry beans only woman.” The beans are cooked in my 8 qt. Presto pressure cooker.

    Like

    1. I figure cooking is another way that I ‘create’ so I do food and cooking posts. Soon, since the weather is getting warmer I will be doing garden posts. I have many irons in the fire I guess!

      Like

Leave a Reply

