Buy or Make?

Why do we make things? I suppose there are many reasons. Some are economical, to save money. Another reason is that it is fun and it is a hobby. Sometimes we make things because we can create a better version. Sometimes we make things that are useful. Lucky we are when we make something for all four of those reasons.

IMG_0389

I finished my cowl that I have been working on. I really love the way it came out. It is soft and the colors go well with my hair and coat.  I priced out cowls and found a range from $30.00 to $200.00! I think my one skein of yarn cost me about $22.00 with my store discount.

IMG_0392

The yarn is from Mountain Colors in Twizzle.  It has silk in it so maybe that is why it feels so nice. I can’t say I knit this up better than anyone else could, but I certainly had fun doing it.

IMG_0423

It is still cold here in Maine so I have a while longer to wear it. So now I have useful checked off the list. I guess making this cowl was certainly worth it to me!

IMG_0432

I was in Portland, Maine recently. I went into a little second hand book store called The Green Hand. I found a few books I liked. I finished reading one already. It was a quick read. It is called Make the Bread, Buy the Butter by Jennifer Reese. She gives her opinion and backs it up with facts on whether you should make something from scratch or buy it at the store. Some of the ‘makes’ surprised me. I liked her down to earth attitude. The book is sort of like a cookbook and has lots of recipes too, which I always love.

Joining Ginny’s Yarn Along  again this week. Happy knitting and making!!

Leave a Reply

