On the Menu Board

IMG_3131

Although I am no chef I do love to cook.  I am the main cook for my big family and they love to eat. Luckily they usually like to eat what I make. On Sunday afternoon I set aside time to create a menu for the week. It isn’t because I am super organized. The main reason I post a menu on the bulletin board is that I get tired of telling each person what is for supper. Seems like they still ask but now I just point to the board. Have you ever told someone what is for supper then ten minutes later someone else asks and you answer “You just asked that!” and the person says “No I didn’t that was so and so” ? I forget who asks me and I get a little tired of answering five or six times.

 

WP_20140524_001

Another reason I post it is that my husband is great at remembering to take out anything from the fridge that needs to thaw. I am not great at remembering to do that. Before we head up to bed he will look at the menu and take out the hamburg or chicken or whatever needs to thaw for supper the next day.

 

IMG_1347

It can be a challenge to come up with meals because I love a little variety. I don’t like having the same thing week after week. Plus I want the meals to be healthy. Most of our meals are made from scratch so it takes a little extra planning. I think it would be helpful to have different meal ideas to pick from every week. I hope that if you make a weekly menu (and you read this blog) you would be willing to share yours. I am making Monday my menu sharing day.

 

IMG_2031

Here is my menu for this week.

Monday: Chili with cornbread

Tuesday: Steak Fahitas

Wednesday: Teriyaki chicken on the grill with asparagus and brown rice

Thursday: Goulash (American Chop Suey)

Friday: Pork tenderloin with sweet potatoes and onions and carrots and applesauce

Saturday: Tacos

Sunday: Beef Roast with roasted potatoes and broccoli and cauliflower and rolls

 

A Meal that worked really well and everyone loved last week was Thai Noodles and Stir Fry Veggies.

Here is the recipe:

Thai Noodles

Various stir fry veggies, like Bok Choy, onions, pea pods, garlic, carrots, broccoli…..

1/4 to 1/2 cup Soy sauce

2 Tbsp of Thai paste (mild)

1 Tbsp honey

2 Tbsp oil

First thing soak the noodles in hot water.

Cut up veggies and start cooking the hardest vegetables first in a wok or deep pot. In my mix it was the carrots. Then add the next vegetable that takes longest to cook. Keep adding until all veggies are in. Mix up the soy sauce, Thai paste, honey and oil. Add to the veggies. Cook for a bit longer and transfer to a bowl and keep warm. Add some soy sauce and oil to wok and put in the Thai noodles. Stir and cook until soft. It shouldn’t take long if you soaked them. You can either add the veggies at this point and serve or you can put noodles on each plate and then add the veggies. Serve with extra soy sauce and a little hot sauce for those who like it a bit more spicy.

I think it would be fun to share your menu for the week. Tell about a meal from the previous week that worked really well and why. Maybe even share a recipe. Does that sound fun? Until I have added the Linky Party link I would love for you to leave a comment with a link to your blog post with your menu. Thanks!

If you see a meal in my menu that you would like the recipe for let me know. Enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

