Yarn Along

IMG_0228

I have been reading Ginny’s Yarn Along  posts and couldn’t wait to join in.

I just started the book Christmas Bells by Jennifer Chiaverini. She is the author of all the Elm Creek Quilt novels. I loved them and so I saw this book on the shelf at the library and decided to give it a try. So far so good. It is a mixture of past and present. So far the book switches between present and past.  The past part of the story takes place during Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s life in the 1800’s. I didn’t see the book around Christmas time but a Christmas book is good any time of the year, don’t you think?

My knitting project is quite a story itself. I have been working on the above sweater for two years now. I actually finished it once! When I tried it on it was very bumpy and loose up on top in the chest region. The pattern does say for a “grown ass woman” and I am quite petite and have small breasts. My knitting teacher is so much better at knitting and patterns and such that she said we could sort of re-write the pattern for my small size. So again I knitted up the body of the sweater and brought it to class and tried it on. The bumps were gone and it looked great up top. It didn’t seem to fit around my middle as well as I had hoped. I was fine with it and everyone agreed that when I blocked the sweater it may stretch and it would be fine. So my teacher started showing me how to start the sleeves and I heard her groan. My heart dropped a beat. She then explained that after I tied off the sleeves with scrap yarn and started the lace pattern back up for the body I forgot to pick up the stitches for one sleeve. In my mind I hoped that there was something we were going to be able to do to fix it. I was wrong. My teacher told me that this was a reason the sweater did not fit right around the middle. I was missing about 3 inches of width in my sweater because of those sleeve stitches. So, out came the sweater again. I am fine with it because the yarn is so beautiful, it was expensive, and I’m knitting this sweater so I can actually wear it. I can’t imagine spending that amount of money and time on something that will just sit on my shelf. So, I am now knitting it for the third time.

IMG_7778

Isn’t that just beautiful yarn? I got it at a fair here in Maine.

IMG_8419

I  love the gull lace pattern that this sweater has. I have only been knitting for a few years and when I started this sweater that gull lace pattern seemed so hard. Now I can do it in my sleep. Practice makes perfect!

9 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. I like your tenacity to learn from your mistakes, unknit, and keep on knitting! And look at the tremendous reward…do it in your sleep. *smile*
    I agree it is beautiful yarn…just wish I could squoosh it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

